There is currently a link being spread around through Facebook, mainly being sent by Facebook Messenger. The link looks like a Facebook login page, however, it is NOT REAL. If you enter your login information into this page, your account has been compromised, and you should read the section below about what to do if you are a victim.
What should I look out for?
There are a few key signs to look out for that may indicate that someone you know has been affected by this:
- Unsolicited messages with a link – This is the main thing to look out for. If someone sends you a message out of the blue that contains a link, it is extremely likely that they have been hacked.
- Certain phrases – The person behind this appears to be using the same message over and over, so look out for any of the following (replacing [your name] with your actual name):
- “iit you[your name]”
- “this should not have happened![Your Name]>_<“
What should I do if I am a victim?
If you have already been affected, don’t worry – There is still something you can do. However, you need to do this as soon as possible – If you can catch this before the attacker manages to use your account to spread the link, you can stop it from spreading.
- Immediately change your Facebook password. This is the most important step – You need to make sure that the attacker cannot get back into your account.
- Change the password for any accounts that use the same password. You want to make sure that no other accounts are compromised.
- Warn your friends that your account has been hacked. You need to make sure that they don’t fall for anything if your account is used to send the link to them.
What should I do if my friend has been compromised?
Let them know as soon as possible, but try to use any other method of contact other than Facebook. If they have been hacked, then they may not be able to access their account to see their messages.